Current Events: Home

• State Library of Kansas

  if you are home you might need log in info below:
  Patron ID (Library ecard #): 465828
  Birthdate(Password): 09011965

Scroll to the middle of the page and click on Access Databases. Use the alpha list to find the following databases for current events.

•  U.S. Newsstream
  • Search premium U.S. news content and archives, including the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
•  World News Digest 
  • Front page gives recent big stories
  • Type in search topic, but be sure to filter year for current events
• Newspaper Source Plus
  • Full-text newspapers, television and radio transcripts.
  • Be sure to use filters for date etc.
• Issues & Controversies
  • Search Topic A to Z . Once you get on a topic, go to the editorial or news tab and you can filter according to date
  • Or, type topic in the search bar, go to appropriate media tab and filter by date
• Today's Science
  • Science focused current events. Use the front page for recent stories.
  • Type topic in search bar, but be sure to use date filter

Databases didn't have what you needed?

Use the Chrome extension MYBib to create easy citations for most internet sources. Bonus: It lets you know the credibility of the source as well.

"A nonpartisan, nonprofit building a national movement to ensure that all students are skilled in news literacy before high school graduation."

Use the username and passwords below the news link.

DON'T use your district log in.

• Username: juliefales@smsd.org
• Password: 2024Raiders?

• Username: juliefales@smsd.org
• Password: 2024Raiders

+ subscription includes The Wall Street Journal, MarketWatch, Barron's and Investor's Business Daily

• Username: juliefales@smsd.org
• Password: 2024Raiders

If you choose to simply Google a current event, here are a couple of tips. Look for a link to a news site, BBC, AP News, Reuters are some reliable ones. Avoid any sponsored websites.

To get a source citation, and to check credibility, download the Chrome Extension MyBib. (see video below). Once you select the current event, go to the extension, select appropriate citation type (usually MLA or APA) and see what it says about credibility.

MyBib

"SIFT" through the site.

S: Stop

Think what you are reading

I: Investigate

Figure out where the item comes from

F: Find Trusted Coverage

Is the claim true or false? Verify the information with another source.

T: Trace claims, quotes, and media back to the original source

Find the info in its original context

Not sure if the news outlet you use is credible or unbiased? Check out this Harvard Library Research Guide that includes the Interactive Media Bias Chart, as well as fact-checking sites and how to consume news critically.

Harvard Library Research Guide

If you are 16 or over, sign up for a Johnson County Library ecard right at school. If you are under 16, you will need a guardian available when you sign up.

The eLibrary provides a variety of eNewspaper and eMagazine options for card holders.