Mythology: Home

World Mythology

MythBank

• Easy to navigate site that includes a wide range of mythologies.

Ancient Mythology

• Covers 10 of the big mythologies: Egyptian, Japanese, Mesopotamian, Roman, Celtic, Greek, Mayan and Norse.

Godchecker.com

• Includes fun descriptions of a wide variety of gods from many mythologies.

Encyclopedia Mythica

• Thousands of articles on mythologies, including a feasts and deity of the day.

Mythopedia

• Includes Aztec, Celtic, Chinese, Egyptian, Greek

Encyclopedia of Myths

• Look in the alpha list for the mythology or god/goddess you want.

History Channel

• Might touch on a few of the mythologies. Be sure you don't use a page just debunking myths about something.

BBC

• The Ancient History tab touches on Egyptian, Greek, Romans, Vikings and a few other mythologies.

PBS: In Search of Myths & Heroes

• This page covers four myths: The Queen of Sheba, the earthly paradise of Shangri-La, King Arthur and Jason and the Argonauts. Use the search function for other.

Greek & Roman Mythology

• Bullfinch's Mythology
• The Encyclopedia of Greek Mythology
• Greek Mythology

African/Egyptian Mythology

• Egyptian Mythology
• Ancient Egypt: the Mythology
• Gods & Stories from West Africa

Native American Mythology

• Native American Folklore/Myth

Nordic/Viking Mythology

• Nordic Mythology
• Norse Mythology for Smart People

Indian Mythology

• Indian Hindu Mythology Stories

Celtic/King Arthur

• The Legends of King Arthur

Chinese Mythology

• World History Encyclopedia

Aztec/Maya/Mesoamerican Mythology

• Mayan Exhibit at Union Station

Japanese Mythology

• JapanBased

Username: shawnee1        Password: resource

• Put in search term Mythology with All Databases checked for the most 
• List of mythologies covered in ABC/CLIO:
  • African
  • Anatolian
  • Andean/Inca
  • Celtic
  • Chinese
  • Egyptian
  • Greek
  • Japanese
  • Mesoamerican/Aztec/Maya
  • Mesopotamia
  • Polynesian
  • Native American
  • Norse/Viking
  • Roman
• Most searches come up with hits in all the databases. Focus on World History: Ancient and World Religions results.
• Pay attention to the sidebar links once you select an article
• Integrates with NoodleTools

Hover over Kansans on the menu bar. Drop down to Online Databases and CLICK (don't use the fly out menu).

Try these options. Search Mythology or include the type your are interested in.

• Under General
  • Bloom's Literature
  • Britannica Academic
• Under History & Genealogy
  • Go to History Reference Center

Learn360

Mostly video resources. Search Mythology for the most results.

username: SMSouthhs               

password: raiders

NoodleTools

• Use this resource for all things research - citations, work cited, notecards, outline...

Log on the top right.

DON"T SIGN IN. Scroll to the Google icon (bottom left) and click. Sign in with your school Google account.

If this is your sign in, you might have to pick SM South and fill out a couple of questions.

Create a new project and sources from there.